A licensed person who carries a concealed deadly weapon as defined in 11 Del. C. § 1442, without a concealed deadly weapons permit is guilty of felony. The licensee holders shall carry any type of weapon only upon the approval of the Board and the license holder must be trained in the use of such weapon by a Board-approved instructor.
The persons employed as security guards must obtain a commissioned security guard license prior to carrying a firearm and it shall be unlawful for anyone to hire or employ a person who does not possess such a license as a security guard. It shall be unlawful for a commissioned security guard to carry a firearm unless such security guard is in official duty, wearing a distinctive uniform indicating that the person is employed as a security guard by a particular company and the firearm is in plain view. The firearm should also be the type of weapon that the security guard is qualified to carry. [i]
As part of the right to carry firearms on the basis of reciprocity and recognition, a permit issued by Delaware is recognized by Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Missouri, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont and Virginia.
Delaware recognizes permits issued by Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia.
The permit is granted initially for two years and renewal can be made for 3 years. The cost of the permit amounts to $34.50 plus other fees.
[i] 24 Del. C. § 1321