Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

Carrying of Firearms-Maryland

Maryland law prohibits individuals from carrying a handgun, whether concealed or open, with them or in a vehicle.  Carrying handgun in public school property or carrying with deliberate purpose of injuring or killing another person is unlawful.[i] The prohibition does not apply to a person who is on active assignment engaged in law enforcement and authorized at the time to carry, or transport the handgun as part of the person’s official equipment. [ii]

The term “firearm” means a handgun, rifle, shotgun, short-barreled rifle, or short-barreled shotgun, as those terms are defined in Md. CRIMINAL LAW Code Ann. §  4-201, or any other firearm.[iii]

Application for a permit to carry a handgun is made to the Secretary of State Police.
All persons applying for a permit to carry firearm must submit a finger print card.

Permit will be issued after a criminal background check which may take up to 60 days before the results are returned to the Licensing Division.  The entire process will take 90 days in normal cases.  A person cannot apply for a handgun permit in anticipation of an employment with a security agency.  The person must be employed by an agency prior to applying for the handgun permit.

Handgun permits are issued based on individual needs and some individuals qualify for an unrestricted permit.  In the case of an unrestricted permit, the Secretary of State Police may limit the geographical area, circumstances, or time of the day, week, month, or year in which a permit is effective. [iv] In Maryland, carrying firearm while hunting under the influence of alcohol or narcotic drug is unlawful.[v]

Out of state handgun permits are not valid in Maryland and the only exception is to armored car drivers who posses valid permits from other states, who are on duty in Maryland.  States that recognize Maryland permit include Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Vermont.

Permit is issued for a period of two years on payment of $127.25. Renewal cost of handgun permit is $69.25.

[i] Md. CRIMINAL LAW Code Ann. § 4-203

[ii] Id.

[iii] Md. CRIMINAL LAW Code Ann. § 4–104

[iv] Md. CRIMINAL LAW Code Ann. § 5-307

[v] Md. NATURAL RESOURCES Code Ann. § 10-410

Inside Carrying of Firearms-Maryland