Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

Carrying of Firearms-Michigan

In Michigan, a firearm means a weapon from which a dangerous projectile may be propelled by an explosive, or by gas or air.[i]  A pistol is defined as a loaded or unloaded firearm that is 30 inches or less in length, or a loaded or unloaded firearm that by its construction and appearance conceals it as a firearm.

The legislature created a standardized system for issuing concealed pistol licenses to prevent criminals and other violent individuals from obtaining a license to carry a concealed pistol, to allow law abiding residents to obtain a license to carry a concealed pistol, and to prescribe the rights and responsibilities of individuals who have obtained a license to carry a concealed pistol.  County Gun Board/Sheriff is the license issuing authority.  The applicant should be 18 years of age or older, citizen of United States, resident of Michigan and mentally competent.  A felony charge against the applicant is not pending at the time of application.[ii]

The states that recognize Michigan permit are Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas and Kentucky, Louisiana, Montana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wyoming.

Michigan recognizes all state licenses, as long as permit holder is resident of issuing state.

Permit is granted for five years and the cost of obtaining permit is $105 for both new and renewal applications.

[i] MCLS § 28.421

[ii] MCLS § 28.422

Inside Carrying of Firearms-Michigan