Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

Carrying of Firearms-Mississippi

In Mississippi, license to carry firearms will not be issued to any person who is physically or mentally unfit to carry or use firearms.  Mississippi does not have non-resident permits and concealed permit is issued to residents only.

Mississippi Department of Public Safety, Highway Patrol is the issuing authority.  Permit will be issued within 120 days [i] and shall be valid for four years.  Mississippi laws require a background check through the Fderal Bureau of Investigation.  The fee for a first time Individual Firearm Permit is $132.00.  The renewal fee is $82.00 and the fee for a Security Guard Permit is $132.00.

In order to be eligible, the applicant must have completed 21 years of age and must have been a resident of the state for over 12 months or a person with a valid out of state license.  Permit will be issued to persons on active military duty, or a retired law enforcement officer seeking residency.  The applicant should not suffer from any physical infirmity which prevents the safe handling of a handgun.  Persons including drug or alcohol abusers, convicted felons or fugitives from justice will not be granted permit.  The applicant should not have any mental problems or violent misdemeanor convictions within the last 3 years.  The applicant should not be prohibited from possessing a firearm under federal law.  [ii] The applicant must submit fingerprints and a full-face photograph.

If the permit is lost or destroyed, the applicant must notify the Department of Public Safety (DPS) within 30 days.  A notarized statement to DPS that the permit has been lost or destroyed is required.  The applicant will be granted a duplicate permit on payment of $15.

Mississippi has Reciprocal Agreements with Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

[i] Mississippi Law 45-9-101 (6)

[ii] Miss. Code Ann. § 45-9-101

Inside Carrying of Firearms-Mississippi