Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

Carrying of Firearms-Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, it is unlawful for any person to carry a concealed handgun except as authorized by the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.[i] The Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation is the license issuing authority.

Eligibility requirements stipulate that the applicant should be a citizen of United States, 21 years or older, establish a residency in Oklahoma and complete the required firearms safety and training class.  A person is permitted to carry loaded and unloaded shotguns, rifles and pistols, open and not concealed and without a handgun license when hunting animals, during competition in or practicing in a recognized sporting event, during participation or preparation in a military function or recognized police function and during a practice for or a performance for entertainment purposes.

The states that recognize license issued in Oklahoma are Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Florida. Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wyoming.  Oklahoma recognizes permits issued in all states.

License is granted for wither 5 years or 10 years.  The cost for obtaining license for 5 years for a new applicant is $100 and for a renewal applicant is $85.  The cost for obtaining license for 10 years for a new applicant is $200 and for a renewal applicant is $170.

[i] 21 Okl. St. § 1290.4

Inside Carrying of Firearms-Oklahoma