Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

Carrying of Firearms-Texas

In Texas, firearm is defined as any device designed, made, or adapted to expel a projectile through a barrel by using the energy generated by an explosion or burning substance or any device readily convertible to that use.  Handgun is defined as any firearm that is designed, made, or adapted to be fired with one hand.[i]  The issuing authority of license to carry firearms is Department of Public Safety. 

Eligibility requirements stipulate that the applicant must have completed 21 years of age and must have a clean criminal history, including military service and recent juvenile records.  The applicant must not be under a protective order, chemically dependent nor mentally unsound.  The applicant must not be delinquent in paying fines, fees, child support, student loans.  The applicant must have completed required training and be eligible to purchase a handgun by completing the NICS check.[ii]

The states that recognize licenses issued by Texas include Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Vermont and Wyoming.

Texas recognizes licenses from residents of Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Washington and Wyoming.

A license expires on the first birthday of the license holder occurring after the fourth anniversary of the date of issuance.  The cost of license is $140. However, for senior citizens or indigent Texans, the cost is only $70.  The cost is $25 for active/honorably retired peace officers or active/retired judicial officers. 



[i] Tex. Penal Code § 46.01

[ii] Tex. Gov’t Code § 411.172

Inside Carrying of Firearms-Texas