In West Virginia, any person who carries a concealed deadly weapon, without a state license or other lawful authorization will be guilty of a misdemeanor. S/he will be fined between $100 and $1000 and may be imprisoned upto twelve months for the first offense. But upon conviction of a second or subsequent offense, s/he will be guilty of a felony and will be imprisoned in the penitentiary between one to five years and fined between $1000 and $5000[i].
Any person who desires to obtain a state license to carry a concealed deadly weapon should apply to the sheriff of his/her county for the license. Concealed weapons permits may only be issued for pistols or revolvers[ii].
Any owner, lessee or other person charged with the care, custody and control of real property may prohibit the carrying or concealing of any firearm or deadly weapon on property under his/her domain.
Any person carrying or possessing a firearm on the property of another who refuses to relinquish possession of such firearm or other deadly weapon temporarily, requested to do the same, or to leave such premises, while in possession of such firearm or other deadly weapon, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. S/he shall be fined not more than one thousand dollars or confined for not more than six months, or both[iii].
A person who holds state permit to carry a concealed handgun issued by another state, with which West Virginia has executed a reciprocity agreement, will be recognized as a valid one, if the following conditions are met[iv]:
- The permit or license holder is 21 years or older;
- The permit or license is in his or her immediate possession;
- The permit holder is not a resident of the State of West Virginia; and,
- The state of West Virginia has executed a valid and effective reciprocity agreement with the issuing state pertaining to the carrying and verification of concealed handgun licenses and permits issued in the respective states.
A permit from another state is not valid in West Virginia if the holder is prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.
West Virginia recognizes permits to carry firearms from Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma,
Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, and Virginia. The states that recognize permits to carry firearms from West Virginia are Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, and Virginia. The County sheriff issues the permit for a term of five years at a fee of $90.
[i] W. Va. Code § 61-7-3
[ii] W. Va. Code § 61-7-4
[iii] W. Va. Code § 61-7-14
[iv] W. Va. Code § 61-7-6a