State of California does not require a permit to purchase rifles, shotguns and handguns. All purchase of guns should be done from a California licensed gun dealer. When purchasing a gun, the purchaser should make an application to the licensed dealer. The application should contain a brief description of the purchaser and the purchaser’s right thumb impression. The application should also present a valid California identification card or driver’s license. If purchasing a handgun additional proof of California residence should be provided.
On receiving the application the dealer will send the copy of application to the California Department of Justice and the local police chief or sheriff. The Department of Justice will conduct a background check of the purchaser. A fee of $25 is charged for the background check. If the purchaser is found eligible to purchase the firearm, s/he can take possession of the firearm after a 10 day waiting period. However, if the purchaser does not take possession within 30 days, s/he will have to repeat the purchase process once again, along with the fees.
The purchaser should be 18 years to buy a rifle or shotgun, and 21 years in age to buy a handgun. The laws governing firearms are stated under California Penal Code Sections 12071 et seq.
The main government office that deal with issues relating to firearms is:
California Attorney General
Attn: Department of Justice
P.O. Box 944255
Sacramento, California 94244-2550
Phone: (916) 445-9555