According to Article 1, Section 11, Paragraph 1 of the Nevada Constitution, every citizen has the right to keep and bear arms for security and defense, for lawful hunting and recreational use, and for other lawful purposes. Nevada does not mandate a state permit to purchase a rifle, shotgun or handgun. However, Clark County in Nevada requires the handgun owners to register their concealable firearms with the local law enforcement agency in the county. All persons in the county for more than 60 days and newly purchased or acquired handguns should be registered within 72 hours of acquiring the handgun.
Under Nevada Revised Statute Section 202.254, if a person obtains a firearm from a private person, upon request of the transferor, the person acquiring the firearm will have to undergo a background check by the central repository within five business days after receiving the request.
Main government office that deals with issues relating to firearms is:
Office of the Attorney General
100 N. Carson Street
Carson City, Nevada 89701-4717
Fax: (775) 684-1108